Thank you DJ Skreebz for the great work!

DJ Skreebz designed this logo! Thank you!

 

 

Entrepreneur Life 101 has moved, please visit Entrepreneurlife101.org for current posts. Thanks!

 

Welcome to the Entrepreneur Life 101 blog!

My name is Skyler Johnstone, I am 22 years old and I have been an entrepreneur most of my life. Basically, I  didn’t have a choice in the matter, BUT I have been loving every minute of it. My parents and grandparents were all entrepreneurs in one way or another with both a successful baby clothing business and a play in the real estate market up to this day. First and foremost, real estate can be very lucrative so keep that in mind but be careful of the downfalls. When I was a young man instead of sending me to daycare my mom would bring me into her baby clothes store while my dad went to work as an electrician in Seattle. I was joyfully forced to grow up knowing numbers, business layouts, business plans, marketing goals and the key point, How to turn a profit!!! Case in point, my mom was able to buy baby clothes from Goodwill and then put them in her shop for a reasonable mark-up.

What is an entrepreneur you might ask? An entrepreneur is a person who stakes his/her money on an idea or business they feel will be successful and recoup their investment back with a sizable profit.  Believe it or not we are all entrepreneurs in one way way or another. Don’t believe me? Well, you have a job right?  You had to spend your time and money looking for that job did you not? Gas costs money and I’m sure your time isn’t free either. By searching for that job you staked your own $1-100 in gas to get to work or that job interview and thus you are actually staking money into the fact you will make enough by the end of the day to substantiate the cost and expenses you have incurred. So just by driving to work that day you are in more ways than one an entrepreneur. At the same time you are taking the risk that your employer may or may not pay you for that days labor and thus you are an entrepreneur too!!!

    If you don’t have a job, tough shit, create one!! But wait, hear me out and let me explain. It is very self explanatory but sure enough some out there are scratching their head at this idea because they never knew it as a viable option.Believe it or not, a business can be started with as little as $20. No it’s not a typo, $20 can start a business. I started my window washing business See Clear Windows with only $20. I invested it into a bucket, a squeegee, and a little dish soap to start. With a little bit of vigor, creativity, and a go-getter attitude I walked across the street in the same parking lot and turned my $20 investment into a $100 profit for only 3 hours of not so hard labor. I had asked the local stores if I could wash their windows at a discounted price because I was just starting out and not surprisingly most had said yes! Long story short, I re-invested part of the profits back into my one day old business and thus I had my own operational and profitable window washing business and I made more money at it in that one day then I could’ve working part-time at minimum wage job for two! After the first month I had setup approximately $300 in monthly reoccurring business accounts which, albiet could have been more but usually residential cleaning is more lucrative. During the first month I setup a website, designed logos,  made fliers, business cards and hired employees. I’m willing to bet you didn’t know it was that easy either. My first month I had turned a profit of $2,000, not bad for a 19 year old college drop-out at the time. Keep in mind I am back in school right now but at the time I was not.  I hired laborers off of Craigslist to flier all of the local neighborhoods on a commission base which worked out perfect for my needs as a small business. I invested into setting up an LLC a few months later and even did some advertising on a local newspapers website as a premier advertiser.Well enough about me, the rest of this blog and it’s articles are for you! But, if you decide to go out and start a window washing business don’t forget to get insurance, a valid license to operate and something to protect you and your potential employees. If you have any more questions about my past window washing endeavors or need advice on your business ideas feel free to contact me anytime via email at entrepreneurlife101skyler@gmail.com or follow me on Google+, Facebook, or Twitter #el101skyler.

Thanks for reading my first post. Keep reading it gets better! I look forward to talking to all of you very soon. Don’t forget to share my page with your friends, family, neighbors, and co-workers. I hardly ardevtise so if you like what your read, please tell your friends.

Stop wasting time, follow Entrepreneur Life 101 on Facebook by clicking here—-> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Entreprener-Life-101/245002922248829?ref=ts

Do you have any comments or suggestions for Entrepreneur Life 101 please fill out the form below thanks!

Comments
  1. Nick Fandel says:

    So Skyler…Where does the discussion begin? and what prompted this idea of yours?

    • Well that’s a great question Nick, I haven’t quite decided whether to talk more about saving money and the benefits of doing so when starting your own business or maybe diving into some of the challenges you can expect to encounter when doing so and how to overcome those. Well I can’t quite say how I actually turned my thoughts into a detailed blog but I do have to attribute the original spark of interest in blogging to a friend of mine who has a blog on cup cakes that I am subscribed too. I sure hope she doesn’t mind me talking about her ha ha. She has a blog that is called 365 days of cupcakes and her goal almost like that in the movie Julie and Julia is to cook a new recipe of cupcake everyday and blog about it and well I like the idea so much I thought it might be time to share a few of my thoughts and experiences as a young entrepreneur. Thanks again nick for the comment, I hope you enjoy the upcoming post, whatever that may be ha ha!

      • Nick Fandel says:

        I think it is a great idea to join the blogging world, this is what a lot of businesses are incorporating into their systems in order to gain info on products and services. I think both those topics you mentioned above are “blog-worthy” and would be of interest to individuals as they discover your website. Many individuals do not understand the finance world very well and if given the proper advice, I believe a good number of people could benefit from what you have to say – I know I would. If I were to give any advice on what I thought may be a couple more hot topics, I would recommend the change we have seen in the marketing world and/or IT/IS systems and their role in the business world….factors to consider on both of these topics; globalization and outsourcing, which are also topics in themselves. That is the great thing about blogs though…topics will arise themselves. Ya just have to feed the fire. and I will check out her blog.

  2. I stand corrected it is called Let them eat cupcakes and it is 52 weeks of baking. You just have to see it to believe it. Check out her blog here at http://letthemeatcupcakes52weeks.blogspot.com/

  3. Oh yeah globalization and outsourcing both have really become the new “it” thing. One other idea I was throwing around the other day was social media, after hearing about Facebook going public and reading up on some of the statistics, you would be amazed to know that as of now Facebook has approximately 845 million users and is expected to break 1 billion by the end of this year! That being said, social media and social media advertising has become one of the most effective ways of reaching people because day in and day out people are logging into their social network of choice and spending larger and lager amounts of time on those sites. With that opens up the world to us and really grants us access to the brightest minds on the planet even at times without leaving our home or even a language barrier. Computers and the internet are here to stay and we can only soar exponentially in the vast amount of new things we can do with our computers and information we can share with others.

    • Nick Fandel says:

      Very true, it sounds like you will have a good start on some very popular topics. One last thing that just came to mind before I call it a night…Management and leadership. I just read an interesting leadership article this evening called “Solitude and Leadership” by William Deresiewicz. This is actually a speech he gave at Westpoint, but brings up very good points in what a “true leader” is.

      I will stay tuned with your blog and feel free to contact me at anytime, I am always open to business topics and discussion. Take care and good luck.

  4. I am reading that article now Nick, thanks for the great suggestion! Today I was able to post a a new post on Marketing and why it should be important to you. As you suggested I gave little bit of information on just how easy it is to create impressions on your pages and what can be done to build more traffic to your site. The main point to is that it is FREE! I look forward to reading the rest of this article and thanks again for your comments. Talk to you soon.

  5. Rewq Oruni says:

    I think it takes some guts to start a business the way you did with a squeegee, a bucket, and dish soap! I always thought being an entrepreneur would be a great opportunity that would work, but I have not “jumped in the water.”

    • Thank you Rewq! Since I was raised with the idea of being an entrepreneur as almost an only option I kind of forget that other people don’t know just how easy it is to start a business. I read an interesting article about how everyone sells something. In the most simple form it is true, we all do sell one thing or another. From a burger at a fast food chain to searching out new clients to sell them insurance or another service we all sell something. The real question is why can’t that sale be of your product or service? Everyone has some sort of knowledge they can share with the world but most don’t because they either lack the confidence or funds to create their own business. I am the person telling you otherwise that even without a single dime in your pocket you can become a millionaire. Continue following my blog for more tips and tricks on how you can do so.

  6. Well the key point is to just get out there and do it. Whether that means stopping what you are doing and writing your ideas down that is the first step. Then figure out the cheapest way possible to start your business and turn a profit as soon as possible. After you have revenue coming in that is the key point. You can find ways to tell people about your business by getting out and talking to people, businesses and free online advertising. I am thinking of taking the personalization of my story out of my blog and make it more professional and less personal, what do you guys think?

  7. I personally don’t think you should take the personalisation out, that’s half it’s charm when reading. There is nothing unprofessional about your writting you come across as extremely knowledgable so why take the personality out.

    • Well thank you! I just didn’t know if my first post and the about me were redundant. I love teaching people how to make money and even more so I enjoy meeting new people. That is why I started the blog in the first place, to meet new people. Do you have a blog startersphere? If so, I would like to read it 😛 Talk to you soon!

  8. I like this post, enjoyed this one regards for putting up.

  9. Thank you Rocco. What kind of post interests you more? Personal experience or business advice?

  10. Health says:

    Thank you for sharing superb informations. Your web-site is very cool. I am impressed by the details that you¡¦ve on this site. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for extra articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found simply the info I already searched all over the place and simply could not come across. What a great web-site.

    • Thank you very much. I am constantly wondering if anyone is actually enjoying my content and if it is worth it for me to keep writing but from February to now I have had almost 2k views, which is close to 500 a month and that makes me very happy. I don’t need to make any money at it I just want to help young people realize the importance and opportunities available to them without putting in that much work at all. Like one of my guest writers had mentioned, her teenage son is already a successful entrepreneur and has paid for college on his own from his childhood profits.

  11. SEO says:

    You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something that I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

    • Well like I have mentioned before, if you have a job you are an entrepreneur just as much as I am one. Sure different aspects are easier than others but let’s face it, everyone sells something and it’s up to you to decide whether you want to sell your product or service or someone else’s. Thank you for the support, I look forward to hearing more of your thoughts soon!

  12. Keesha says:

    I drop a comment each time I appreciate a article on a site or if I have something to add to the conversation. It is caused by the fire displayed in the article I read. And after this post Taking calculated actions while minimizing risks!! Entrepreneur Life 101. I was actually excited enough to drop a leave a responsea response 😉 I do have some questions for you if you tend not to mind. Is it only me or does it look like some of the remarks look like they are coming from brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are posting at additional sites, I’d like to follow you. Would you make a list all of all your community pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  13. Very interesting info!Perfect just what I was searching for!

  14. Thalia says:

    What you typed made a lot of sense. But, consider this, suppose you added a little information? I ain’t saying your content isn’t good, but what if you added a title that makes people want more? I mean Taking calculated actions while minimizing risks!! Entrepreneur Life 101 is a little vanilla. You might look at Yahoo’s front page and watch how they create post titles to get people interested. You might add a video or a picture or two to get people interested about everything’ve got to say. In my opinion, it would make your posts a little livelier.

  15. I am not sure where you’re getting your info, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for wonderful information I was looking for this info for my mission.

  16. Luz says:

    I drop a comment when I like a article on a site or if I have something to valuable to contribute to the discussion. Usually it is triggered by the passion displayed in the article I browsed. And on this post Taking calculated actions while minimizing risks!! Entrepreneur Life 101. I was excited enough to post a thought 🙂 I do have a couple of questions for you if you usually do not mind. Could it be only me or does it appear like a few of the responses look like coming from brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing at additional social sites, I’d like to follow everything new you have to post. Could you make a list every one of all your shared sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    • I would have to agree Luz, some of my followers have less to say and even more curiously a lack of knowledge in the English language BUT that is also what makes it special too because I am reaching people in other countries that are able to enjoy my information as well. I have a linked in and a facebook page. You can find my Linkedin by searching Skyler Johnstone and my Facebook page by searching Entrepreneur Life 101. Thanks for the response! Glad you enjoy my work, it means a lot!

  17. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn anything like this before. So good to seek out someone with some authentic thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this website is something that is wanted on the internet, somebody with just a little originality. helpful job for bringing something new to the web!

  18. Perfectly indited written content , appreciate it for entropy.

  19. site says:

    magnificent points altogether, you simply received a new reader. What may you recommend in regards to your submit that you made some days ago? Any positive?

  20. Well written, I agree with jake that keeping the form simple to fill is paramount. No one likes to waste unnecessary time keying in fields of rubbish.

  21. Fantastic JOB!
    your publish was extremely helpful, thanks

  22. I was curious if you ever thought of changing the layout of your blog?

    Its very well written; I love what youve got to
    say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1
    or 2 pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  23. ppc tips says:

    I searched deep inside myself although reading your content and it touched me deeply. Thank you

  24. Thank you for this publish. Just observed it on google and i need to say that i;m really truly surprised 🙂
    Thanks all over again and cheers dude!

  25. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  26. If its cheap sofas that are important to you then take a look at my latest article. And by the way, great blog you have here!

  27. Oscar Korus says:

    certainly like your website however you need to test the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I in finding it very bothersome to inform the reality then again I will certainly come back again.

  28. I am typically to blogging and i really admire your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your website and preserve checking for brand new information.

  29. Thanks a ton for this – love the info and agree with your perspective. However many others will not, so thanks for speaking up. Nice blog, well done!

  30. Janie Eeds says:

    I surely did not know that. Learnt a thing new right now! Thanks for that.

  31. Hiya! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa? My site addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other. If you happen to be interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Wonderful blog by the way!

  32. Hilary Bordi says:

    Thank you for this wonderful article! It has long been extremely useful. I hope that you’ll proceed posting your wisdom with us.

  33. Otis Kettler says:

    I just want to mention I am just very new to blogging and actually loved this web blog. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You surely have impressive articles and reviews. Thank you for sharing your web page.

  34. I drop a leave a response each time I especially enjoy a post on a site or I have something to valuable to contribute to the conversation. It is a result of the sincerness displayed in the article I browsed. And after this article Taking calculated actions while minimizing risks!! Entrepreneur Life 101. I was excited enough to post a thought 🙂 I actually do have 2 questions for you if you usually do not mind. Could it be simply me or do a few of the remarks come across like written by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional online sites, I would like to follow you. Would you list all of your shared sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  35. I have found your site by googgeling it. I have bookmarked it. Thanks

  36. Law says:

    Simply want to say your article is as astounding. The clearness in your submit is just spectacular and i could assume you’re knowledgeable on this subject. Well along with your permission allow me to snatch your feed to keep up to date with coming near near post. Thank you one million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

  37. Nice blog right here! Also your website so much up very fast! What web host are you the usage of? Can I am getting your associate link for your host? I wish my website loaded up as fast as yours lol

  38. Criminal Law says:

    Excellent blog right here! Also your site loads up very fast! What host are you the use of? Can I am getting your affiliate link for your host? I desire my site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  39. Trademarks says:

    I just like the valuable info you provide on your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I am fairly certain I’ll learn lots of new stuff proper right here! Best of luck for the next!

  40. Hi, i believe that i saw you visited my weblog so i came to “go back the choose”.I’m attempting to to find issues to enhance my website!I guess its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  41. Jule Nilsen says:

    I am always searching online for ideas that can aid me. Thank you!

  42. More Info says:

    I was looking through some of your blog posts on this website and I believe this website is real instructive! Keep putting up.

  43. ghaowmw says:

    Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is fantastic, let alone the content!. Thanks For Your article about Taking calculated actions while minimizing risks!! Entrepreneur Life 101 .

  44. Design says:

    I have been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  45. I normally don’t write here but I had to ask you how you manage to update regularly your website. I don’t have such discipline and I worship writers who have that much time to keep their websites alive. I hope I will be able to write often as you do in future! Malena

    • That’s the thing about writers, you are either writing or you are not. There is no middle ground, you just have to set aside time and do it. I try to start an article one day, finish it up and edit it the next. Sometimes I just put it out there and let all of you correct me, in fact I prefer it that way honestly.

  46. Malcolm says:

    Spot on with this write-up, I actually believe that this web site needs a great deal
    more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read more, thanks for the info!

  47. Hi, I do believe this is a great blog. I stumbledupon it 😉 I will come back yet again since I book marked it. Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide others.

  48. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was
    great. I do not know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  49. Felipa Barie says:

    I simply want to say I am just very new to blogging and site-building and definitely loved your web site. Probably I’m planning to bookmark your site . You surely have perfect articles. Many thanks for sharing with us your website page.

Leave a Reply

